Speculative Fiction 2013

Speculative Fiction 2013 collects over fifty truly awesome pieces from all corners of speculative fiction fandom – from book criticism to incisive commentary on important issues like sexual harassment at conventions; from feminist themes in summer blockbusters to life-changing video games; from the merits of grittiness and the downfalls of grimdark. John W. Campbell award-winning writer Seanan McGuire writes the forward. Seanan is the author of the Toby Daye urban fantasy series, and, under pseudonym Mira Grant, the Newsflesh trilogy and Parasite.

SpecFic ’13 Contributors:


Speculative Fiction 2012

This Hugo Nominated collection contains over fifty of the year’s best online essays and reviews, from Tansy Rayner Roberts on Supergirl to Lavie Tidhar on China Miéville to Aishwarya Subramanian on My Little Pony to Joe Abercrombie on, er, himself. It is a diverse collection of some of 2012’s best and most interesting writing. The book also contains a foreword from Mur Lafferty, author of The Shambling Guide to New York City and long time podcaster.

All proceeds from sales of this book have been donated to Room to Read, supporting literacy and gender equality in education around the world.

SpecFic ’12 Contributors: